Pupil Reports

New GCSE Grading system

From the summer of 2017, GCSE students will begin to receive some of their grades in a new format. The familiar system of grades A* to G, for GCSE subjects, is being phased out over the next three years. This system is being replaced by a new 9 to 1 points based system with 9 being the highest grade. It is a completely new system and it is difficult to make comparisons with the old A* to G scale.

Please download a short guide for parents and students outlining the key changes to grading GCSE exams from 2017 and how this information will be reported to you by the school:

CAL (Current Attainment Level)

The CAL gives an indication of the level/grade that the pupil is working at at the moment.

Please note that for Maths GCSE students in Years 9 and 10 following the OCR Linear (J567) course, it is normal for the CAL to be two grades lower than the final expected outcome at the first assessment point of the year. This is due to the staged nature of the course where the lower grade material is studied first; hence a seemingly low grade should not necessarily be seen as a cause for concern.

Attitude to Learning and Homework Levels

When we report our pupils’ academic progress to parents and carers, we also award an 'attitude to learning' level for each subject. Effort levels indicate a pupil’s general attitude in lessons and are on a scale from 6, for exceptional effort, down to 1. In addition, homework levels indicate the (relative) standard of pupils’ homework, and whether it is handed in on time, on a similar scale.

September 2021


View the calendar in full

Latest News

View more news stories