GCSE Course Content

Students at Toot Hill follow the AQA GCSE (8300) Maths specification from the beginning of Year 9.

The GCSE is assessed by three papers at the end of the course (two calculator papers and one non-calculator paper) with no coursework, controlled assessments or modular exams.

There are two tiers of entry: Higher (aimed at grades 5-9 although grades 3 and 4 are awarded) and Foundation (grades 1-5). The decision about which tier will be made during the course once it becomes clear which tier is the most suitable.

Pupils follow one of several pathways towards the final exam aimed at preparing them to sit the exam at the appropriate tier. Pupils' pathways are based on prior attainment at Key Stage 3. All pupils will cover all the Foundation level elements first prior to covering the Higher elements.

February 2020


View the calendar in full

Mathematics News

View more news stories